TRAFFORD BOROUGH COUNCIL

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

13 MARCH 2014

PRESENT

The Worshipful the Mayor (Councillor Dylan Butt), in the Chair.

E.H. Malik Mrs. P. Dixon K. Procter D. Acton A. Duffield J.R. Reilly Mrs. J. Reilly S. Adshead Mrs. L. Evans S. Anstee T. Fishwick B. Sharp Dr. K. Barclay M. Freeman B. Shaw J. Smith J. Baugh P. Gratrix E.W. Stennett Miss L. Blackburn J. Harding R. Bowker J. Holden N. Taylor Mrs. A. Bruer-Morris M. Hyman L. Walsh C. Hynes Mrs. V. Ward B Brotherton D. Jarman D. Western C. Candish R Chilton P. Lallv M. Whetton Mrs. J. Wilkinson M. Colledge J. Lamb Mrs. L. Cooke J. Lloyd A. Williams M. Cordingley A. Mitchell M. Young M. Cornes P. Myers Mrs. P. Young J. Coupe D. O'Sullivan

Also Present

Colonel Kerry Trow and representatives of 207 Field Hospital.

In attendance

Chief Executive	Ms. T. Grant
Corporate Director Children and Young People's	Mrs. D. Brownlee
Service	
Corporate Director Economic Growth & Prosperity	Mrs. H. Jones
Corporate Director Transformation and Resources	Mrs. W. Marston
Director of Finance	Mr. I. Duncan
Director of Human Resources	Ms. J. Hyde
Director of Legal and Democratic Services	Ms. J. Le Fevre
Democratic Services Manager	Mr. P. Forrester
Marketing and Communications Team Leader	Mrs. K. Dooley
Democratic Services Officer	Mr. I. Cockill

APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors J. Bennett, C. Boyes, H. Boyle, J. Brophy, D. Bunting, D. Higgins, I. Platt, D. Quayle, B. Rigby, T. Ross, S. Taylor and A. Western.

Special Meeting of the Council 13 March 2014

85. 207 FIELD HOSPITAL - SIGNING OF ROLL OF FREEMAN

The Mayor welcomed esteemed members of the 207 Field Hospital to the meeting and referred to the Freedom of the Borough of Trafford honour bestowed upon 207 Field Hospital in 2011 (Minute No. 18 of the meeting held on 21 June 2011 refers). The Mayor paid tribute to the work of the Field Hospital both on national duty and in the local community.

Commanding Officer Colonel Trow was invited to formally sign the Roll of Freemen and this was witnessed by the Mayor, Councillor Baugh the Mayor of Trafford in 2011 and the Chief Executive.

Suitably, Colonel Trow responded to the Council and expressed his appreciation of the active partnership between the Council and the Field Hospital. The Colonel thanked the Council for its continuing support.

The Council's Political Group Leaders praised the 207 Field Hospital for its efforts and commitment and wished the unit well for the future.

86. LEADER OF THE COUNCIL AND MEMBERSHIP OF THE EXECUTIVE

The Chief Executive submitted a report concerning the election of the Leader of the Council and advising on the appointment of the Executive and a Deputy Leader.

RESOLVED -

- (1) That the Council notes the resignation of Councillor Matthew Colledge as Leader of the Council with effect from 13 March 2014.
- (2) That Councillor Sean Anstee be elected Leader of the Council for a fixed term of office from this date of election to the first Annual Meeting of the Council after his normal day of retirement as a councillor in May 2016.
- (3) That, for the remainder of the 2013/14 municipal year, the Council notes:
 - (i) the appointment of Councillor Michael Young as Deputy Leader of the Council;
 - (ii) that the existing Executive Scheme of Delegation will be retained; and
 - (iii) that the Executive shall comprise the Leader of the Council plus 8 Councillors, as set out below:

<u>Councillor</u> <u>Portfolio</u>
Sean Anstee (Leader) Finance

Michael Young (Deputy Leader) Adult Social Services

Dr. Karen Barclay Community Health and Wellbeing

Special Meeting of the Council 13 March 2014

Michael Hyman Economic Growth and Prosperity

Michael Cornes Education

Alan Mitchell Highways and Environment

Jonathan Coupe Safe and Strong Communities

Miss Linda Blackburn Supporting Children and Families

Alex Williams Transformation and Resources

Councillor Acton, Leader of the Labour Group and Councillor Bowker, Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group congratulated Councillor Anstee upon his appointment and paid tribute to the approachable and respectful manner in which Councillor Colledge had acted during his period as Leader. Councillor Cordingley and Anstee also commended the outgoing Leader.

Councillor Colledge wished his successor every success and expressed gratitude for his working relationship with the other Group Leaders and Members across the Chamber. He stated that he was privileged to have served as Leader and to have experienced the variety and richness of the job. Councillor Colledge also thanked the Chief Executive, Corporate Management Team and the Council's dedicated staff for all their work and support.

The meeting commenced at 6.05 p.m. and finished at 6.40 p.m.